Saturday, May 31, 2008

Three Important steps of online Business

Online marketing can be divided into three key activities:


Acquisition Getting people to your Web site or landing page, Try to give what your visitor want on this page.

Conversion Persuading them to take the desired action(s), for what we are working. Most important part of online business

Retention Deepening the relationship and increasing its lifetime value or we can say thanks for visit and please do come back soon.

Each step feeds into the next.

Imagine that you are in charge of online marketing for your organization. You have slaved for months to tune and optimize your campaigns. Countless hours and days have passed in a blur.

The first visitor arrives — and leaves in half a second. The next one lands on your site, clicks another link, and is gone as well. More and more visitors flash by — a virtual flood. Yet only a tiny percentage will take the action that you would like them to take.
What's wrong?
It's hard to figure it out:
• You have their fleeting attention for a split second.
• You don't know who they are.
• You don't know what they are thinking or feeling.
• You don't know why the vast majority of them leave so soon, empty-handed.
It seems like a hopeless situation. You are forever doomed to suffer from the poor marketing program economics that result from a low Web site conversion rate.

To overcome this type of situation the Proper Tracking and behavior analysis comes in light and try to deliver what visitor want , Try to follow their step see what made them to exit . Unlike in shopping mall where we can see our customer live and analyze their behavior and also we can offer on the spot help to them if they want and we can stop them hold them but in case of online business we can not have this facility, but with good web analytics software we can do tracking and recording of every interaction with your Web site. Each visit is recorded along with a mind-numbing amount of detailed information. Reports can tell you where the visitors came from, their path through your site, the time that they spent lingering over certain content and whether they were persuaded to act.

Friday, May 16, 2008

How satisfied my visitors are ? catch their voice


customer satisfaction very important metrics for web analytics, all web analytics tool only
give idea of what visitor is doing on your site. But no tools can give you the real voice
of customer what he want from your web site and will he able to get the result what he want
from side as Your visitors can be your best friends or your worst enemies. By listening
directly to them, you can understand what works, what doesn’t and what it takes to give
them the best possible website experience.

4Q, an Avinash Kaushik and iPerceptions collaboration is a simple, free survey solution,
free means here abosolute free, no condition apply this is words from Avinash Kaushik
that lets you ask these all-important questions to your website visitors, and gives you
real-time, complete access to the results.


To do this right, you need to ask the four most important survey questions:

* How satisfied are my visitors? like what they want and what they getting

* What are my visitors at my website to do? what their aim for visiting my web site

* Are they completing what they set out to do?If not, why not?

* If yes, what did they like best about the online experience?

for informatiom on this watch Avinash video on

Friday, May 9, 2008

Adword Quality Score-High Rank for minimum cost


I would like to share some basic on quality score for adwords, Qulity score plays major role in keyword ranking and also help in lowering your bidding cost.

What is 'Quality Score' and how is it calculated?
Quality Score is a dynamic variable assigned to each of your keywords. It's calculated using a variety of factors and measures how relevant your keyword is to your ad text and to a user's search query.

About Quality Score
Quality Score influences your ads' position on Google and the Google Network. It also partly determines your keywords' minimum bids. In general, the higher your Quality Score, the better your ad position and the lower your minimum bids.
Quality Score helps ensure that only the most relevant ads appear to users on Google and the Google Network. The AdWords system works best for everybody—advertisers, users, publishers, and Google too—when the ads we display match our users' needs as closely as possible. Relevant ads tend to earn more clicks, appear in a higher position, and bring you the most success.

Quality Score Formulas
The formula behind Quality Score varies depending on whether it's calculating minimum bids or assigning ad position. It also varies based on whether it's affecting a keyword-targeted ad on the search network, a keyword-targeted ad on the content network, or a placement-targeted ad.
While we continue to refine our Quality Score formulas, the core components remain more or less the same.

Below you'll find a breakdown of each type of Quality Score.
Quality Score for Google and the search network
Quality Score for Google and the search network is a dynamic metric assigned to each of your keywords. It's calculated using a variety of factors and measures how relevant your keyword is to your ad group and to a user's search query. The higher a keyword's Quality Score, the lower its minimum bid and the better its ad position.
The components of Quality Score vary depending on whether it's calculating minimum bid or ad position:
Quality Score for minimum bid is determined by a keyword's clickthrough rate (CTR) on Google, the relevance of the keyword to its ad group, your landing page quality, your account's historical performance, and other relevance factors.
Quality Score for ad position is determined by a keyword's clickthrough rate (CTR) on Google, the relevance of the keyword and ad to the search term, your account's historical performance, and other relevance factors.

How are ads ranked?
Ads are positioned on search and content pages based on their Ad Rank. The ad with the highest Ad Rank appears in the first position, and so on down the page.
The criteria determining Ad Rank differ for your keyword-targeted ads depending on whether they're appearing on the search network or on the content network. There's also a third set of criteria determining whether a placement-targeted ad will show on a given content page.
Ad Rank for keyword-targeted ads on the search networkA keyword-targeted ad is ranked on a search result page based on the matched keyword's cost-per-click (CPC) bid* and Quality Score.
Ad Rank = CPC bid × Quality Score

The Quality Score for Ad Rank on the search network is determined by:
The historical clickthrough rate (CTR) of the ad and of the matched keyword on Google; CTR on the Google Network is not considered
The relevance of the keyword and ad to the search query
Your account history, which is measured by the CTR of all the ads and keywords in your account
Other relevance factors
Your landing page quality is not a factor.
Note that the Quality Score determining minimum CPC bid is slightly different. It's derived from the keyword's CTR on Google, the relevance of the keyword to its ad group, and landing page quality.

Ad Rank for keyword-targeted ads on the content networkA keyword-targeted ad's position on a
content page is based on the ad group's content bid and Quality Score. If you don't set a content bid, we'll set an automatic bid using an average of all your ad group's keyword- and ad group-level CPCs.
Ad Rank = content bid X Quality Score
The Quality Score related to Ad Rank on the content network is determined by:
The ad's past performance on the site in question, as well as on similar sites
Your landing page quality
Other relevance factors
Ad Rank for placement-targeted ads on the content networkIf a
placement-targeted ad wins a position on a content page, it uses up all the available ad space so no other ads can show on that page. (Certain content pages may have more than one block of space reserved for AdWords ads. In those cases, a single placement-targeted ad or multiple keyword-targeted ads can occupy each block.)
To determine if your placement-targeted ad will show, our system considers the bid you have made for that ad group or for the individual placement, along with the ad group's Quality Score.
Ad Rank = Bid × Quality Score
The Quality Score related to Ad Rank for placement-targeted ads with CPM bidding is derived solely from landing page quality. For placement-targeted ads with CPC bidding, the clickthrough rate is also considered, just as it is with keyword-targeted ads.
Improving your ranking
Having relevant keywords and ad text, a strong CTR on Google, and a high keyword CPC bid will result in a higher position for your ad. Because this ranking system rewards well-targeted, relevant ads, you can't be locked out of the top position as you would be in a ranking system based solely on price. Also, the AdWords Discounter monitors your competition and automatically reduces your actual CPC so you pay the lowest price possible for your ad's position on the page.
Here are some resources for improving your Quality Score and ad ranking:
Optimization Tips:
Visit
Optimization Tips page to learn more about account optimization, including how to maximize performance for your keyword-targeted ad and improve your ad's position without having to raise your bid.
Traffic Estimator:
Use
Traffic Estimator to see how changing your CPC bid can affect the ad position of your keywords on the search network.

Content Bids:

Use content bids to better control your ad position on the content network.
what is Maximum Cost-per-Click (Maximum CPC)
Your maximum cost-per-click (CPC) is the highest amount that you are willing to pay for a click on your ad. You can set a maximum CPC at the keyword- or ad group-level. The AdWords Discounter automatically reduces this amount so that the actual CPC you are charged is just one cent more than the minimum necessary to keep your position on the page.

How to calculate CTR
CTR = No of Clicks / No of impression
Then we multiply the result with 100 to get percentage
e.g
you have no clicks =500
no of impressions = 12000
them CTR = 500/12000 =.0.04 x100 =4.1%

Resource:
Adword support

Some tips on Google adwords
1) Experiment With Matching Options
Our client was only using broad match for their keywords in their campaign. We added exact match and phrase match keywords to each ad group and chose which of the three had a better QS and lower minimum CPC and deleted the other two matching options. In the majority of cases, exact match won.
2) Split Keywords into Smaller more targeted Ad GroupsWe used the in built keyword grouper tool in
Adwords editor to group keywords into 15 groups of 20 related keywords